When does the Tour de France start 2021?

When does the Tour de France start 2021?
When does the Tour de France start 2021?
The pinnacle of competitive cycling will start next week (Picture: Getty)

The race for the iconic maillot jaune returns, as the iconic Tour de France is nearly upon us.

This year’s Tour features three summit finishes, 10 mountain stages and eight flat stages, as well as bringing back a second individual time trial. 

Often considered the pinnacle of the cycling calendar, read on to find out how to stream the event live and when the stages are taking place.

When does the Tour de France start?

The Tour de France will begin next Saturday, June 26.

The first stage of the tournament will start around 12:10pm CEST (Central European Summer Time).

This is 11:10am BST if you are planning on watching live in the UK.

Le Tour de France 2016 - Stage Twenty One
Chris Froome of Great Britain and Team Sky and the rest of the peloton cycle past The Arc de Triomphe during the 2016 Le Tour de France (Picture: Michael Steele/Getty Images)

There will be 21 stages in the tournament altogether.

  • Stage 1 – Saturday, June 26 at 12.10pm CEST, 11.10am BST
  • Stage 2 – Sunday, June 27 at 1.10pm CEST, 12.10pm BST
  • Stage 3 – Monday, June 28 at 1.10pm CEST, 12.10pm BST
  • Stage 4 – Tuesday, June 29 at 1.25pm CEST, 12.25am BST
  • Stage 5 (ITT) – Wednesday, June 30 at 12.15pm CEST, 11.15am BST
  • Stage 6 – Thursday, July 1 at 1.55pm CEST, 12.55am BST
  • Stage 7 – Friday, July 2 at 11am CEST, 10am BST
  • Stage 8 – Saturday, July 3 at 1.10pm CEST, 12.10pm BST
  • Stage 9 – Sunday, July 4 at 1pm CEST, 12pm BST
  • Rest day – Monday, July 5
  • Stage 10 – Tuesday, July 6 at 1.05pm CEST, 12.05pm BST
  • Stage 11 – Wednesday, July 7 at 12pm CEST, 11am BST
  • Stage 12 – Thursday, July 8 at 12pm CEST, 11am BST
  • Stage 13 – Friday, July 9 at 12.05pm CEST, 11.05am BST
  • Stage 14 – Saturday, July 10 at 12.25pm CEST, 11.25am BST
  • Stage 15 – Sunday, July 11 at 12.20pm CEST, 11.20am BST
  • Rest day – Monday, July 12
  • Stage 16 – Tuesday, July 13 at 1.05pm CEST, 12.05pm BST
  • Stage 17 – Wednesday, July 14 at 11.55am CEST, 10.55am BST
  • Stage 18 – Thursday, July 15 at 1.35pm CEST, 12.35pm BST
  • Stage 19 – Friday, July 16 at 12.20pm CEST, 11.20am BST
  • Stage 20 (ITT) – Saturday, July 17 at 1.05pm CEST, 12.05pm BST
  • Stage 21 – Sunday, July 18 at 4.15pm CEST, 3.15pm BST

How to watch the Tour de France

The Tour is being shown live in the UK on ITV4 and across the channel’s ITV Hub platform.

Anyone with a valid TV licence can watch or stream, or catch-up on demand.


MORE : The best home entertainment systems to watch all the unmissable sports this summer

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Share your views in the comments below.

Go to Source
Author: Jack Slater