Minnesota state high school wrestling meet: Kimball Area wins Class A team title

Kimball won its first state wrestling team title Saturday at St. Michael-Albertville, toppling Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale-Parker 49-21 in the Class A championship match.

Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale-Parker won the first three matches of the duel, before Kimball reeled off 10 straight victories, including six pins.

Gavin Winter (126), Alex Nelson (136), Brett Schiefelbein (145), Logan Kuseske (152), Zack Holtz (160) and Haden Rosenow (182) all registered falls.

Kimball Area topped Royalton-Upsala 45-26 in the semifinals earlier in the day.

Holtz went on to reach the individual finals later in the day.

Jackson County Central’s Payton Handevidt completed an undefeated season to win the 152-pound crown, as did Browerville’s Mason Gode at 160 pounds, Caledonia’s Brandon Ross at 120 pounds, Chatfield’s Seth Goetzinger at 170 pounds, Sibley East’s Derek Steele at 126 pounds, Sibley East’s Drayden Morton at 132 pounds, Minnewaska’s Tyson Meyer at 182 pounds, Benson’s Thomas Dineen at 195 pounds and Greenbush’s Dominik Vacura at 220 pounds.

Read More